The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission has mandated that all salespersons and brokers complete 14 hours of continuing education to renew their licenses every even-numbered year. This is separate from the 2.5 of Code of Ethics training required by the National Association of REALTORS requires every three years.
For 2024, coursework must be completed between August 30, 2022 and May 31, 24 in order to meet the requirement.
All newly licensed salespersons must complete the mandatory new license general and residential or commercial modules in their first renewal cycle. This applies to those licensed on or after December 1st in the odd-numbered year preceding their first renewal year.
The curriculum is as follows:
- For the 2022-2024 renewal cycle, a minimum of 3.5 (three and one-half) hours of the required 14 hours of continuing education must be taken on the topics of Redlining, Steering, Implicit Bias, Diversity, and the Fair Housing Act (Often referred to as the “Fair Housing Requirement”). New licensees who are renewing for the first time are exempt from this one-time requirement, and are still required to complete the mandatory courses for new licensees pursuant to 49 PA Code §35.384(b
- Appraisersmust complete 28 hours of continuing professional education by June 30 of every odd-numbered year.
Pennsylvania requires that a licensee who wishes to perform Broker Price Opinions (BPO), must complete a continuing education course on the topic.
Where can I find CE courses?
Continuing Education Classes offered through The Academy can be found in your GrowthZone Member Portal.
The Academy has also partnered with The CE Shop to provide online opportunities for Continuing Education.
*PMAR does not report CE credits to the state. Students are responsible for maintaining their own records in case of an audit from the Real Estate Commission.
Continuing Education Course Policies
Tuition must be paid in full on or before the first day of class.
Tuition refunds will not be given except under special or unusual circumstances. Refund requests must be approved by the PREA Director.
In the event the school has to cancel a class before the completion of the course, student would be entitled to a full refund.
Students must cancel at least 4 days prior to the class to receive a full refund. Thereafter no refunds shall be processed unless approved by the PREA Director. There will be a processing fee of $40.00 for returned checks.